Testimonials

James McQuistin Reviews & Testimonials

Over 200+ 5 Star Reviews on VouchedFor

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    Mortgage Advice

  • How did James help you?

    James has been brilliant and always appears to be at the end of the phone no matter the size of the query at hand. James continually goes above and beyond and has a real understanding of the size of the transactions from a customer lens when it comes to moving house. Often, in my experience, professionals can view it as a transaction and treat it as such, not keeping the customer in the loop and creating unnecessary anxiety.

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Not only have I seen the outcome I was looking for but more often than not, better than I was looking for - once, we had a mortgage agreed and I was happy with the outcome, it would have been easy for James to think, job done. But no, James continue to look and came back to me with a better deal saving me significantly each month.

  • What could they have done better?

    In my experience, I've been delighted with everything and had no issues.

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    Looking for a mortgage as I was moving house.

  • How did James help you?

    Help impartially advised and took time to explain at the very level.

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Yes.

  • What could they have done better?

    I don’t think so.

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    Would have had difficulty getting mortgage due to age.

  • How did James help you?

    Managed to get me a mortgage despite age.

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Yes.

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    Needed someone to look for perfect offer out there.

  • How did James help you?

    James service was amazing he was great at communicating. Nothing was a hassle for him.

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Yes.

  • What could they have done better?

    Nothing James was fab.

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    Moving to a bigger more expensive home.

  • How did James help you?

    This is the second time I have used James and both times he has gone the mile for us. It’s a difficult time right now to get a good mortgage deal and that’s exactly what James managed for us.

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Yes.

  • What could they have done better?

    Nothing.

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    We were looking for a mortgage.

  • How did James help you?

    The property we were interested in was very popular, so James was brilliant at arranging a mortgage offer very swiftly in order that we could put in an offer on the property. He also managed to get our mortgage application over the line when our offer was accepted, right before the rates went up! We're very grateful to him for acting so swiftly on both accounts.

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Yes, we did. We have the keys to our new property and can't wait to move in!

EXCELLENT
32 reviews on
Morag Thorburn
Morag Thorburn
2023-03-30
We had reason to look for a trustworthy financial advisor recently and James McQuiston fitted the bill perfectly. From the first initial phone call through to the end of the process, in just a matter of days, his work was done. Excellent communication and explanation of how the process works, as first time buyers in our 60’s everything was new to us , very quick from application through to the offer. Very professional and informative along with being extremely knowledgeable . First class, excellent service. Look no further !!
Alastair McWilliam
Alastair McWilliam
2023-03-27
James could not have done more to help us.
Kelsey McWhirter
Kelsey McWhirter
2023-03-27
The service James provided was first class. No amount of questions was ever a bother to him and as a first time buyer I had LOTS! Very reliable and a pleasure to communicate with. Can recommend him to anyone looking for help obtaining a mortgage.
Gavin Adams
Gavin Adams
2023-02-07
It has been great working with you and we appreciate your service and professionalism. You advised on all issues concerning our application, from start to end. I will certainly recommend your services to others.
Angela McKane
Angela McKane
2022-11-26
James provided a truly fantastic mortgage advisory service, providing clear answers to all my questions and helping the whole process go smoothly. He is professional, extremely knowledgeable and efficient – I would use his company again and recommend him to others. Thank you James!
Will Laverty
Will Laverty
2022-08-15
Used again for moving house and mortgage sorted quickly with no hassle even though still in a fixed rate. Great service and always responds quickly. Thanks!!
Robert 8Lindssy
Robert 8Lindssy
2022-05-08
Highly recommended. Quick, professional and made things easy
Ellen Watkins
Ellen Watkins
2022-05-05
Look no further than James at Bespoke Home Finance if you’re looking to get a mortgage! Many people tell you getting a mortgage is so stressful but for us, it was the most stress free experience possible, all down to James. Making the experience even better, being a friendly and chatty individual! Cannot thank James enough. Would recommend time and time again!
Teresa Cole
Teresa Cole
2022-03-24
Fast efficient and friendly service. Thank you. Would highly recommend
.

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    To receive the perfect advice and deals on my mortgage.

  • How did James help you?

    James secured us an affordable and ideal mortgage which consisted of everything we needed. James made the process easy and stress free.

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Yes.

  • What could they have done better?

    Nothing James has went above and beyond.

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    I wished to release some of the equity in my property and knew that I needed truly independent financial advice before I did so.

  • How did James help you?

    James carried out a thorough examination of my financial circumstances and then matched me up with a suitable lender. He kept in communication with me throughout the whole process and was an absolute pleasure to deal with, simplifying what could have been an extremely stressful process.

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Yes, despite some complexities caused by my property, the process was concluded successfully and I have secured a very competitive deal.

  • What could they have done better?

    I really cannot think of anything.

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    Moving house. Looking forward the perfect mortgage option for us.

  • How did James help you?

    He was always very prompt with replies, was knowledgeable and able to offer good guidance on our perfect options. We required a few Decision in principle documents before we got an offer accepted. He was always very organised with sorting our paperwork etc

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Yes

  • What could they have done better?

    Nil. We would highly recommend James

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    We were looking to get a mortgage for a new house

  • How did James help you?

    James sorted out our mortgage and got the ball rolling really quickly

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Yes, we got the house and don't know if we would o got the mortgage we were requiring without James's tireless work

  • What could they have done better?

    Nothing

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    Moving house. Looking forward the perfect mortgage option for us.

  • How did James help you?

    He was always very prompt with replies, was knowledgeable and able to offer good guidance on our perfect options. We required a few Decision in principle documents before we got an offer accepted. He was always very organised with sorting our paperwork etc

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Yes

  • What could they have done better?

    Nil. We would highly recommend James

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    We were looking to get a mortgage for a new house

  • How did James help you?

    James sorted out our mortgage and got the ball rolling really quickly

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Yes, we got the house and don't know if we would o got the mortgage we were requiring without James's tireless work

  • What could they have done better?

    Nothing

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    Remortgaging

  • How did James help you?

    James helped in so many ways by sound advice and persistence and Im other ways . Tremendous

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Yes I have had a great outcome. Very pleased.

  • What could they have done better?

    James went above and beyond in getting my mortgage . His service was great and couldn’t of done any better

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    Mortgage application

  • How did James help you?

    James processed the full application for us.

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Yes, all completed Top class service from the start

  • What could they have done better?

    Nothing He was brilliant from day 1

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    Buying a property.

  • How did James help you?

    He managed to get me a mortgage.

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Yes.

  • What could they have done better?

    Everything he suggested ended up with us receiving the perfect mortgage offer possible.

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    Unable to get a mortgage from two previous advisors

  • How did James help you?

    Found a mortgage

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Definitely

  • What could they have done better?

    No not at all he was amazing, I had a mortgage in less then a day. So speedy absolutely amazing

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    Purchasing of a second home and needed to act quickly to find a product to enable us to make an offer.

  • How did James help you?

    Advice on mortgage types to match our situation, applying for a decision in principle and then getting an offer from the selected lender.

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Yes. Very rapidly.

  • What could they have done better?

    Honestly, probably nothing. I was delighted with his approach - it really matched our needs. He worked much faster than any other advisers we have had in the past. He listened carefully to our requirements and so there was no need to reiterate or correct any parameters. I would have utmost faith that James would do the same for anybody else - it really takes the stress out if you can rely on your adviser and if you can trust them to get you what you need in an efficient manner.

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    My previous mortgage company had passed my mortgage on to a new company, which started charging me what I considered to be an extortionate rate of interest.

  • How did James help you?

    I am over 70 so was very doubtful that I would be able to remortgage my house but James found a mortgage for me within days.

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    The outcome was better that I had hoped for: I now have a mortgage with a rate of interest that is not much more than half what I have been paying

  • What could they have done better?

    I can't think of anything he could have done better. He answered all my questions in a clear and direct manner and I cannot fault him.

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    We wanted to buy a house p

  • How did James help you?

    James made the whole process easy and without stress very helpful

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Yes.

  • What could they have done better?

    Nothing

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    We wanted a deposit for our house by releasing equity from an existing property

  • How did James help you?

    He sorted out everything!

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Yes and more. V easy

  • What could they have done better?

    Very unusually for me I can’t fault him. He’s very responsive, replies very quickly and made it all really easy.

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    Mortgage Advice

  • How did James help you?

    James has excellent knowledge and experience. Provided me with clear explanations and support in difficult times with the Coronavirus pandemic affecting business, applications and contact ect. I have been kept informed of processes throughout with instant communication.

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Yes, after a previous lender advising me I would be unable to get the mortgage I requiered, James was able to find me a better deal!

  • What could they have done better?

    No constructive suggestions. Fantastic service. I have reccomended James to others.

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    I was selling a house in England and buying a house in Scotland.

  • How did James help you?

    James found me a great mortgage deal, as well as providing expert advice on the many questions I threw at him! He also responded really quickly to me, so I was never left waiting for answers.

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Absolutely, I am very happy with the deal James has found for me

  • What could they have done better?

    Nothing!

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    Complex residency status

  • How did James help you?

    James was excellent. He put us totally at ease following a difficult situation with another lender.

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Yes, very quick and efficient.

  • What could they have done better?

    Advice was concise. Service was excellent. Communication was great, especially as at times we were in different time zones. We feel that the service James offered could not have been better.

Review from Verified Client
  • What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

    I was looking for mortgage advice relating to moving house while also renting out my flat after moving.

  • How did James help you?

    James clearly explained the kind of products I would need and how they fit together, and gave good illustrations of the numbers involved. The communication was great and everything happened quickly.

  • Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

    Yes, I now have a let-to-buy mortgage and an onward purchase mortgage agreed with two lenders.

  • What could they have done better?

    Nothing really, I can't fault him and would definitely ask him for advice again in future!

Our History

James McQuistin has been in financial services since 2002. I look forward to carrying on our core values and continuing to help those on a daily basis.

Our Mission

I aim to providemy clients with clear, honest and professional advice. I relish in seeing my clients getting a tailored service to suit them.

Our Achievement

My clients are our biggest achievement, not only from their feedback but from the referrals they give us. I love providing a quality and tailored service to all.

For More Support & Services

Address

Bespoke Home Finance Ltd., 9-10 St. Andrew Square, Edinburgh, EH2 2AF

Email

james@bespokehomefinance.co.uk

Phone

0330 111 2477

I make my fees competitive and I make sure to agree on them with you in advance.

I look forward to hearing from you, there is no obligation or no high-pressure tactics on ours. I offer my services to you and want you to have the perfect experience with me.

company note
  • Bespoke Home Finance Ltd is an Appointed Representative of Primis Mortgage Network, a trading name of Advance Mortgage Funding Limited which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.
  • This firm usually charges a fee for mortgage advice. The amount of the fee will depend upon your circumstances and will be discussed and agreed with you at the earliest opportunity. YOUR PROPERTY MAY BE REPOSSESSED IF YOU DO NOT KEEP UP REPAYMENTS ON YOUR MORTGAGE.
  • The guidance and/or advice contained within this website is subject to the UK regulatory regime and is therefore primarily targeted at consumers based in the UK.
  • The Financial Conduct Authority does not regulate all Buy to Let mortgages
  • AN EQUITY RELEASE PRODUCT WILL REDUCE THE VALUE OF YOUR ESTATE, WILL NOT BE SUITABLE FOR EVERYONE AND MAY AFFECT YOUR ENTITLEMENT TO STATE BENEFITS. TO UNDERSTAND THE FEATURES AND RISKS PLEASE ASK FOR A PERSONALISED ILLUSTRATION.
  • A LIFETIME MORTGAGE WILL REDUCE THE VALUE OF YOUR ESTATE, WILL NOT BE SUITABLE FOR EVEYONE AND MAY AFFECT YOUR ENTITLEMENT TO STATE BENEFIT
  • TO UNDERSTAND THE FEATURES AND RISKS, ASK FOR A PERSONALISED ILLUSTRATION.